Procrastination

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Breakdown.”

I am sure I am not the only one to suffer from the dreadful habit, or more appropriately – dreadful disease, of procrastination.

I spend ages thinking about the fact that I need to make the time for doing a small thing because I think it will require concentration and I need to get it just right.

What happens, as you can probably guess, is that I struggle to make time being too busy piling things on my to-do list for the day when I will have the time and space to “concentrate” on them.

What I should be doing is just rattling through things as best and as quick I can without worrying about getting them right or perfect. No matter how long I take, hardly anything is ever perfect and even if it is, it turns out the perfection did not really matter all that much anyway. All that was needed was to get the job done as quickly as possible and to an acceptable standard.

It is beginning to sound more and more like maybe the habit I need to break is seeking perfection, more than procrastination.

The up side of it is that it does allow me to time to think, reflect and modify my approach. To be honest, working closely with a more experienced colleague for last couple of years made me realize the value of that time to think and reflect.

My experienced colleague L can certainly never be accused of procrastination, being a very obvious “doer”. The down side of that as I found out is, things tend to get done the same way they always have been, allowing very little room for thinking or trying any new creative solutions/approaches to a problem.

Whilst she was a fantastic colleague in many ways, I have to say I did not find her approach of work very satisfying as it stifled creativity, by ranking action higher than idea.

Hmmm so come to think of it there maybe some benefits to my procrastination afterall. I just need to find a better balance.

Leave a Reply

