Talking about work

I was thinking what I could and should write about when I realized I spend a lot of time thinking and talking about work, the workplace, the different people and personalities at work, the effect it has on me as a person and how I struggle to deal with it.

So much of our lives and our mental and emotional energy is spent at work that it is impossible to live without talking about it even if just a little bit.

For me work has been both deeply satisfying and deeply frustrating over the years – depending on which team and more importantly which boss I worked under.

I have had the privilege of working with some amazing individuals who have inspired awe and respect in me. They have shown me how much fun work can be and that it can be something you look forward to.

I have also had the misfortune to have worked with individuals so low a sample of human beings that the thought of them makes me shiver in revulsion. Working with me taught me how much my physical and mental health can be affected by being around such people and how I urgently I need to learn to look after me.

So I am going to take sometime to document some of my adventures and misadventures in the big bad world of work. And I would love to hear other thoughts on experiences at work (good, bad, neutral) and the best ways of dealing with them.

Please feel free to share your thoughts and insights. I will be keen to hear.

One thought on “Talking about work

Leave a Reply

